This guide provides an overview of international human rights research tools at the Hastings Law Library and on the Internet. It includes information about indexes, books, periodicals, and websites with useful human rights information. The resources listed should give you a good start on your research and lead you to more specific documents and materials with in-depth subject-specific human rights information.
This Guide is organized by subject. If you are looking for specific documents produced by a particular organization, see the UC Hastings Research Guide to International Human Rights (Organization/Jurisdiction).
RESEARCH GUIDES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, & BIBLIOGRAPHIES
These will give you a general overview of the topic, and provide you with citations to find further information.
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights, 2nd edition - JC571 E67 1996
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945 (1999) - JC571 L26 1999
- Encyclopedia of Public International Law (2000) - KZ1160 E53 1992 [Volume 5 includes a good discussion of various human rights issues.]
- Germain's Transnational Law Research: A Guide For Attorneys - The discussion of human rights research begins at Chapter IV, page 153. - K85 G47
- Guide to Human Rights Research - K3236 T63 1994
- Human Rights: A Bibliography - JC571 H7644 2000
- Human Rights: A Reference Handbook, 2nd edition - K3240 .R42 1998
- ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: Human Rights
- Human Rights Center - UC Berkeley
- Bibliography for Research on International Human Rights Law, by David Weissbrodt and Marci Hoffman
- Bibliography - Publications on Health and Human Rights Themes: 1985-2005, published by Amnesty International
- International Human Rights Research Guide - GlobaLex guide.
- University of Minnesota's Human Rights Library includes a collection of Human Rights Bibliographies and Guides.
- Inter-American System of Human Rights: A Research Guide - GlobaLex guide
- Researching Indigenous Peoples Rights Under International Law - A research guide prepared by Steven C. Perkins.
- Researching International Human Rights Law - A library research guide prepared by the Georgetown University Law Library.
- Basic Documents on Human Rights - K3238 A1 B76 2006
- Blackstone's International Human Rights Documents, 3rd edition - K3238 B59 2002
- Human Rights: A Compilation of International Instruments - K3238 A1 H85 2002
- Human rights links compiled by Georgetown's law librarians
- Human rights treaties and other instruments from the University of Minnesota
- The Multilaterals Project features human rights conventions collected at the Tufts University website.
- Project Diana's links to human rights cases, reports, and documents
- Asia-Pacific Human Rights Documents and Resources(2 vols.) - KM572 A35 A84 1998
- Collection of International Instruments and Other Legal Texts Concerning Refugees and Displaced Persons (2 vols.) (Available online and in print) - K3230.R45 A265 2008
- Compendium of International Conventions Concerning the Status of Women - K3243 A35 U55 1988
- European Convention on Human Rights, Texts and Documents (2 vols.) - KJC5132 A35 E952 1982
- International Labour Conventions and Recommendations (3 vols., 1919-1995) - K1703 I57 1996
- The International Law of Human Rights in Africa: Basic Documents and Annotated Bibliography - KQC578 I57
- A Thematic Guide to Documents on the Human Rights of Women - K644 A35 T44 1995
- Amnesty International
- Human Rights Resources and Information prepared by the Institute of International Studies at UC Berkeley
- The Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law publishes the Inter-American Human Rights Database.
- The Council of Europe's website includes links to the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights, the European conventions, agreements, and treaties, the European Court of Human Rights, and the European Union Annual Report on Human Rights.
- Fourth World Documentation Project: Indigenous Peoples' Information for the Online Community
- Guide to Country Research for Refugee Status Determination and the companion list of links, Annex: Human Rights, Country and Legal Information Resources on the Internet
- Human Rights Watch
- International Labour Organization
- Project Diana: Online Human Rights Archive
- Washburn University School of Law's collection of human rights links
- Yahoo's Human Rights Index
- Hastings Law Library Legal Research Guide: International Treaty Guide
- Treaties and International Agreements Online - This Internet database may be the best place to search for the full-text of treaties. (It is available only on campus.)
- United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) - This Internet database includes a full-text search of treaties and other UNTS databases as well. (Available only from computers on campus.)
- Council of Europe Treaties
- Multilaterals Project - Human rights treaties and conventions
Some treaty databases available on Lexis:
- Treaties and Agreements from ILM - treaties and international agreements from International Legal Materials, January 1975 through current.
- U.S. Treaties on LEXIS - contains over 14,000 documents from 1776 through current.
- Native American People Treaties - Archival material from 1787 through 1883.
Some treaty databases available on Westlaw:
- U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements - Full-text of international and American Indian treaties to which the United States is a party from 1778 to present.
- United Kingdom Human Rights Treaties - Text of treaties, conventions, agreements, protocols, and other instruments of the Council of Europe related to human rights beginning in November, 1950
Hastings has a very good collection of recent human rights publications. To find books on your subject of interest, search the library's catalog. You might try a "keyword" search to locate a few useful titles, and then you can select "s" to find similar titles cataloged by subject.
Note: If you simply want to browse the library's collection of human rights titles, the following call numbers might be helpful:
- HQ503-1742 (family, gender, and women)
- JC571-599 (topics relating to human rights issues by region or country)
- K3230-3240 (international law, asylum, and refugees)
- K3242-3585 (includes minority rights, indigenous peoples, and environmental justice)
- KDZ (Inter-American and Latin American human rights issues)
- KJC5130-5170 (human rights issues in Europe)
There are several indexes you can use to search for human rights articles in legal periodicals. The primary indexes are Current Index to Legal Periodicals , Index to Legal Periodicals and Books , and Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals . All three of these indexes can be searched in print or online. For more details about these and other indexes (including Lexis, Westlaw, and Internet links), consult the Journal Preemption Check Guide at the library homepage or ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.
It might also be useful to search AND Westlaw Full-Text Law Reviews . Although there is a lot of overlap, you may want to search both Lexis and Westlaw since their databases include many different articles. [Note: A full-text law review search will only cover law review articles written since the mid-1990s, and it will not include as many journals as a search using one of the indexes mentioned above.]
SELECTED PERIODICALS FOCUSING ON HUMAN RIGHTS ISSUES IN THE HASTINGS LIBRARY:
(Note: For additional periodicals in the Hastings collection, search the Library Catalog using the subjects "Human Rights - Periodicals" or "Civil Rights - Periodicals".)
- Amnesty International Report - HV6254 A45
- Australian Journal of Human Rights - K1 U7745
- B'Tselem Human Rights Report - JC599 I75 B43 [Note: published by B'Tselem, the Israeli Center for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories.]
- Critique: Review of the US State Department's Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
- Human Rights Quarterly - JC571 U64
- WESTLAW (HUMRIGHTSQ) [1987-current; abstracts only]
- Human Rights Watch World Report - JC571 H785
- Inter-American Yearbook of Human Rights - KDZ574.A85 I68
- International Journal of Refugee Law - K9 N8438
- International Legal Materials - KZ64 I58
- Israel Yearbook on Human Rights - JC575 I8
- Journal of Palestine Studies (Available online and in print) - DS119.7 J63
- South African Human Rights Yearbook - KTL2460 S68 - View volume 1-7 online via HeinOnline.
- United Nations Chronicle - JZ4945 U631
SELECTED LAW REVIEW ARTICLES/BIBLIOGRAPHIES:
- Weissbrodt, David and Hoffman, Marci. "Bibliography for Research on International Human Rights Law" - 6 Minn. J. Global Trade 200 (Winter 1997)
- Cook, Rebecca J. and Valerie L. Oosterveld. "A Select Bibliography of Women's Human Rights" - 44 Am. U. L. Rev. 1429 (1995)
- Perkins, Steven C. "Guide to Researching International Human Rights Law" - 24 Case W. Res. J. Int'l L. 379 (1992)
- Louis-Jacques, Lyonette and Weissbrodt, David. "Bibliography for Research on International Human Rights Law" - 13 Hamline L. Rev. 673 (1990)
- Vincent-Daviss, "Human Rights Law: A Research Guide to the Literature, Part I: International Law and the United Nations" - 14 N.Y.U. J. Int'l L. & Pol. 209 (Fall 1981)
- Vincent-Daviss, Human Rights Law: A Research Guide to the Literature - Part II: International Protection of Refugees and Humanitarian Law" - 15 N.Y.U. J. Int'l L. & Pol. 211 (Winter 1982)
- Amnesty International
- Center for Economic and Social Rights
- Center For World Indigenous Studies - Chief George Manuel Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation Archive
- Department of State (U.S.) Country Reports on Human Rights
- DIANA : Online Human Rights Archive
- Foreign Primary Law on the Web maintained by University of Houston Law Center.
- GlobaLex guide - International Human Rights Research Guide
- GlobaLex guide - Inter-American System of Human Rights: A Research Guide
- WashLaw WEB: Human Rights
- International Court of Justice (ICJ website)
- International Court of Justice (ICJ research guide)
- International Law Commission
- The Lawyers Committee for Human Rights
- Netherlands Institute of Human Rights
- University of Minnesota's Human Rights Library
- Women's Human Rights Resources - Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto
The library has published a series of legal research guides covering topics that might be relevant when you are doing your human rights research. Topics include:
- International Human Rights Research
- European Union
- International Courts
- International Environmental Law
- International Treaty Law
- United Nations Law
- United Nations Documentation: Research Guide on Human Rights Research
- Germain's Transnational Law Research: A Guide for Attorneys, by Claire M. Germain- K85 .G47, Reference & Reserve Stacks
- This widely-used guide is a great starting place for human rights research. There are chapters covering The European Convention on Human Rights, The European Court of Human Rights, European Union, International Environmental Law, International Criminal Law, Human Rights, International Court of Justice, and International Labor Law.
- Guide to Human Rights Research, (published by Harvard Law School)- K3236 T63 1994, Reserve stacks & Reference desk
United Nations Human Rights Resources & Documents
Print, CD-Rom & Microfiche Resources
- Annual Review of United Nations Affairs - JZ4945 A66
- United Nations Reference Guide in the Field of Human Rights - JC571 U58 1993
- United Nations Yearbook - JZ4947 U5 (Online)
- United Nations Documents and Publications -JZ5010 .U57 (Micrographics)
- An online U.N. index is also available on campus for the years 1966 to current.
- Fifty Years After the Declaration : the United Nations' record on human rights - K3240 .F53 2001, 5th stacks
- Human Rights: A Basic Handbook for UN Staff (2001), .pdf
- United Nations Homepage
- United Nations Human Rights Homepage
- United Nation's Commission on Human Rights
- United Nations Documentation: Research Guide - Human Rights
- United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) Homepage
- UNHCHR's links to UN Human Rights Documents
- United Nations High Commissioner For Refugees (UNHCR) Homepage
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) research webpage with Country of Origin and Legal Information databases collection of full-text databases representing the most comprehensive and reliable refugee information available on the Internet.
- United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) - This database includes a full-text search of treaties and international agreements as well as other UNTS databases. (Available only from computers on campus.) While many of the UN documents you need will be available online, for older documents you may need to use the Hastings UN micrographics collection (JZ5010 .U57, cabinets #11-#13, Micrographics).
Keep in mind that there are books, websites and index entries to journal articles that spell International Labour Organisation as 'Labor' and/or 'Organization'. Here is the main page for the International Labour Organisation, click on the ILO Information Resources page for links to conventions, recommendations and statistics.
- NATLEX is a continuously-updated database containing references to over 55,000 national laws on labour, social security, and related human rights, with over 300 laws in full text. Records and texts in NATLEX are in either English, French, or Spanish. Search by country or subject.
- International Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre (CIS) - The CIS collects and disseminates information on the prevention of occupational accidents and diseases. The page on Occupational Safety and Health Worldwide has links to ILO Conventions and Recommendations concerning occupational safety and health and Codes of Practice (practical guides which are not legally binding).
- Cornell Law Library's ILO Research Guide
- Judgments of the Administrative Tribunal of the International Labour Organisation - K1704.23 .J83, 5th stacks
- The International Labor Organization : the international standards system and basic human rights - K1705.4 .B37 1996, 5th stacks
- ILO Law on Freedom of Association : standards and procedures - HD6476.A2 I69 1995, 5th stacks
- International Labour Standards : a workers' education manual - K1705 .I53 1998, 5th stacks
- Deregulation and labour law : in search of a labour concept for the 21st century - K1705 .D47 2000, 5th stacks
- Human rights, labor rights, and international trade - K1705.4 .H86 1996, 5th stacks
- International encyclopaedia for labour law and industrial relations - K1705 .I5 , 5th stacks
- International labour law - K1705.4 .V34 1995, 5th stacks
- ABA Labor and Employment Law Section Meeting Papers
The International Criminal Court (ICC) is the first permanent court capable of trying
individuals accused of the most serious violations of international humanitarian and human rights law, namely genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. The treaty that established the ICC, the Rome Statute, entered into force on July 1, 2002, and provisional headquarters for the Court were opened shortly thereafter. The ICC is expected to begin investigating cases by 2004. Use this website to read recent documents, press releases and fact sheets.
- Crimes Against Humanity : the struggle for global justice - K5301 .R63 2000, 5th stacks
- International Courts and Tribunals : selected documents and materials - KZ6250 .I57 1999, 6th Stacks
- The International Criminal Court and the Transformation of International Law : justice for the new millennium - KZ6310 .S23 2002,6th Stacks
- The International Criminal Court : consent, complementarity and cooperation - KZ6310 .M57 2000, 6th Stacks
- The International Criminal Court : elements of crimes and rules of procedure and evidence - KZ6310 .I575 2001, 6th Stacks
- The International Criminal Court : the making of the Rome Statute : issues, negotiations, results - KZ6310 .I58 1999, 6th Stacks
- International Crimes, Peace, and Human Rights : the role of the International Criminal Court - KZ6310 .I57 2000, 6th Stacks
- An Introduction to the International Criminal Court - KZ6310 .S33 2001, 6th Stacks
- The New International Criminal Court : rush to justice? - KF210.B74 D27 2002, 5th stacks
- The Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court : a commentary - KZ6310 .R665 2002, 6th Stacks
- International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
- International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
- Global War Crimes Tribunal Collection - KZ1190 .G56 1997, 6th Stacks
- [Includes background information, documents, and cases from the Yugoslav & Rwanda tribunals.]
- International Courts and Tribunals: selected documents and materials - KZ6250 .I57 1999, 6th Stacks
- The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda - KZ1201.A12 M67 1998, 6th Stacks
- The International Tribunal for Rwanda : facts, cases, documents - KZ1201.A12 I59 1999, 6th Stacks
- Hastings Law Library Legal Research Guide: European Union Law
- Council of Europe Treaties
- European Court of Human Rights
- European Court of Justice Cases (on LexisNexis)
- European Human Rights Reports (on Westlaw)
- Human Rights Cases (on LexisNexis)
- 2002 European Union Annual Report on Human Rights
- Cases and Materials on the European Convention on Human Rights - KJE5132 .M68 2007, 6th stacks
- European Human Rights Case Locator 1960-2000 - KJE5132.A36 M46 2000, 6th stacks
- European Human Rights Case Summaries 1960-2000 - KJE5132.A7 M46 2002, 6th stacks
- European Human Rights Law : text and materials - KJC5132 .J36 2000, 6th stacks
- Leading cases of the European Court of Human Rights - KJC5132.A52 L42 1997, 6th stacks
- The Strasbourg Case Law : leading cases from the European Human Rights Reports - KJC5132 .A54 2001, 6th stacks
United States Government Documents on Human Rights
- Hearings from the 41st Congress (1869) to current are available in microfiche. (This collection also includes a few hearings prior to 1869.)
- LexisNexis and Westlaw include statements of witnesses at hearings before Committees of the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, and Joint Committees from 1993 to date.
- To locate hearings available in the microfiche collection, use ProQuest Congressional (available to Hastings students, faculty, and staff).To view the full-text document on microfiche, please go to microfiche cabinets 2-7.
- The Monthly Catalog is another index which can be used to locate hearings. It is available at CGP Catalog.
- Westlaw (LH) - For the years 1948-1989, this database contains only selected reports; from 1990 to date, it includes all congressional committee reports, including reports on bills that did not become law.
- Lexis (LEGIS;CMTRPT) - This file contains the full text of House and Senate Committee Reports from 1990 to present.
- ProQuest Congressional (available to Hastings students, faculty, and staff) - This database provides the full text of committee reports from 1989 to present.
- CIS microfiche set (1789 to current) - KF49 .C622: Micrographics cabinets #1-5
- For recent reports available on the Internet:
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) provide valuable insight into how Congress makes decisions and are excellent sources for determining historical and current legal frameworks on domestic and international issues.
- Sample reports:
- Kurds in Iraq: Status, Protection, and Prospects: 94-423-F
- U.S. Immigration Policy on Haitian Migrants: RS21349
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - JC571 U48 1993-1999; 1999-current: [Note - These reports are published annually.]
- Digest of United States Practice in International Law (KZ21 D48) - Online. Continued by Cumulative Digest of United States Practice in International Law (KZ21 D481). And then continued by The Digest of United States Practice in International Law (KZ21 .D482).
- Dispatch - KZ231 U832 (This publication ceased in 1999.) The Department of State's Dispatch was the weekly record of the U.S. Department of State from 1990 through 1999. It provided a diverse compilation of major speeches, congressional testimony, policy statements, global issue fact sheets, country profiles, treaty actions, ambassadorial appointments, and other foreign policy information from the State Department. It is available on Westlaw (USDPTSTDIS), Lexis (Department of State Dispatch) or on the Internet as Dispatch Magazine.
- The Inter-American Human Rights Database contains documents in English and Spanish adopted by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights since its first session in 1960.
- Inter-American Court of Human Rights
- Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) (Organization of American States) Link here to cases published by the IACHR.
- The Inter-American Court of Human Rights - KDZ579.I58 D38 2011, 5th stacks
- The Inter-American Human Rights System - KDZ578.I5 D38 1997, 5th stacks
- The Inter-American System of Human Rights - KDZ574 .I57 1998, 5th stacks
- The Inter-American System : Treaties, Conventions & Other Documents - KDZ10 .I57 1983 (not current), 5th stacks
- Inter-American Yearbook of Human Rights - KDZ574.A85 I68, 5th stacks
- [Includes documents and cases from the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights & the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (in English & Spanish).]
- Report of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights on the Status of Women in the Americas - KDZ136.W64 I58 1998, 5th stacks
- Artists Embassy International - dedicated to the universal language of the Arts for peace...to support understanding, international friendship, inter-cultural appreciation and encouragement of artists. (SF/Richmond)
- Asian Law Caucus - promotes, advances and represents the legal and civil rights of the Asian and Pacific Islander communities. (San Francisco)
- Amnesty International - Learn about Human Rights, stay informed with RSS feeds and get involved with the local chapter.
- Center for Justice & Accountability - works to stop torture and other serious human rights abuses around the world by helping the survivors of such abuses hold their perpetrators accountable, especially those perpetrators who live in or visit the United States. (SF)
- Crabgrass - a small non-governmental organization based in San Francisco working globally and locally, on environmental, social justice and human rights issues. (SF)
- Earthjustice - a non-profit public interest law firm dedicated to protecting the magnificent places, natural resources, and wildlife of this earth and to defending the right of all people to a healthy environment. (Oakland)
- Electronic Frontier Foundation - a donor-supported membership organization working to protect fundamental rights regardless of technology; to educate the press, policymakers and the general public about civil liberties issues related to technology; and to act as a defender of those liberties. (SF)
- Global Exchange - a human rights organization dedicated to promoting environmental, political, and social justice around the world. (SF)
- Human Rights Watch - dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world...to prevent discrimination, to uphold political freedom, to protect people from inhumane conduct in wartime, and to bring offenders to justice...investigate and expose human rights violations and hold abusers accountable...challenge governments and those who hold power to end abusive practices and respect international human rights law. (SF)
- Natural Heritage Institute - a non-governmental, non-profit organization founded in 1989 by a group of experienced conservation lawyers and scientists who foresaw the need for a toolkit for the next era of environmental problem solving: where the technical dimensions are more complex, the social calculus less obvious, the economics more central, the ramifications more global, and the conventional pathways less efficacious. (Berkeley)
- Peaceworkers - a San Francisco-based international nonviolent peace organization, is the original sponsor of the proposal for a Global Nonviolent Peace Force. (SF)
- Pesticide Action Network North America - works to replace pesticide use with ecologically sound and socially just alternatives. (SF)
- Tibet Justice Center - committed to solving the situation in Tibet peacefully, through the rule of law. (Berkeley)
- Women's Institute for Leadership Development - to promote human rights through the conscious leadership and action of women and girls...WILD provides human rights education, engages in public advocacy, and collaborates on the adoption and implementation of international human rights standards in the United States. (SF)
International Human Rights Research
Where to Start
Collection of Human Rights Documents
Compilations of Human Rights Resources
Locating Other Important Human Right Books
Locating Periodical Articles
Miscellaneous Links to Human Rights Resources
Where to Start
Finding Journal Articles
Getting Research Help
Organizations and Information
International Labor Organization
Criminal Courts & Criminal Tribunals
European Human Rights
Regional Human Rights Resources
Inter-American Human Rights
Some Local Non-Governmental Organizations