Introduction
As a general rule, regulations are different from statutes: regulations are enacted by administrative agencies, while statutes are enacted by the legislature (or by voter initiative). The authority to adopt, amend, and repeal regulations is granted to an agency by either constitutional provision or statute. When exercising this authority, agencies must follow the procedures set forth in the California Administrative Procedure Act (Government Code 11340 et. seq.). This guide outlines how to locate and update California regulations.

Some agencies have established administrative tribunals that adjudicate certain disputes.This guide will help you locate those agency decisions.
Finding Regulations
Finding Regulations
Regulation citations include a title number, publication name, and section.

Examples:

                                     Title 3, California Code of Regulations, section 432
                                     Cal. Code Regs., tit. 3, 432
                                     3 C.C.R. 432

If you have a citation to a regulation, it is easy to find the appropriate title and locate the section. Regulatory materials are compiled in the California Code of Regulations (CCR) (KFC35 .A22 - 4th Floor Stacks).    As of April 1, 1990 the title changed and "Barclays Official California Code of Regulations,  has been certified by the Office of Administrative Law as the official publication of the State of California."   The CCR is divided into 28 titles, which are subdivided into divisions, parts, and sections.  With the exception of Title 24, the Building Codes, the current CCR is located in the 4th Floor Stacks. 

The current CCR may be found online at: CalRegs.com . This searchable database is updated weekly, and includes helpful instructions.  Note that Title 6 (Governor) and Title 24 (Building Codes) are not included on this website. On the website of the California Office of Administrative Law, you will find a California State Regulatory Agency List  where you can find regulations by looking up the relevant administrative agency (e.g. Department of Consumer Affairs).  

Title 24 of the CCR, the Building Codes, are published separately.  The print copies are kept at the Reference Desk ( KFC35.A22 ),
Title 24 is divided into 12 parts. Pt. 1, The Administrative Code, Pt. 6, The Energy Code, Pt. 8, The California Historical Building Code, Pt. 11, The California Green Building Standards, and Pt. 12, the California Reference Standards Code are available in PDF on the California Building Standards Commission website.   The other Parts of Title 24 are available in text format at the website. 

A few regulations are not included in the CCR. For example, the print version of a few provisions in Title 10, Article 7 (such as sections 2350 et seq.) must be obtained from the Workers' Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau (WCIRB).

Barclay's publishes a Master Index to the current CCR. It is the last two volumes in the set. One volume contains statute to regulation tables; the second volume contains a subject index. The subject index is the place to look if you do not have a citation to a regulation.

Lexis and Westlaw
The CCR (titles 6 and 24 are not included) is also available on Lexis and Westlaw.
Lexis Advance : Browse sources for CA - Barclays Official California Code of Regulations
: Use the CA-ADC database (Barclay's Official California Code of Regulations)

The Internet version of the CCR and the versions on Westlaw and Lexis are all searchable full text.
Updating Regulations & Proposed Changes
Updating Regulations and Finding Proposed Changes to Regulations

The California Regulatory Code Supplement (Digest of New Regulations), 1995-current;  KFC35 .A22 - 4th Floor Stacks;  and 1945-current  Micrographics - Cabinets 22-23)
This contains the official register of changes to the CCR. The weekly updates include the full text of all the regulations filed during that week with the Secretary of State, as well as a list of the CCR sections affected by the newly published regulation. Just to confuse the issue, this publication is sometimes called the Register or Supplement Register.

The California Regulatory Notice Register (Z Register)  (2002-current); KFC35 .A23 - 4th Floor Stacks (1979-current)*
This additional weekly publication, known as the Notice Register or Z Register, is published by the California State Office of Administrative Law.  It includes all proposed regulatory changes within state agencies, as well as disapproval decisions, regulations filed with the Secretary of State, title and section changes to the CCR filed with the Secretary of State, and agency contact information. There is no index, so you will need to look at the table of contents for each issue to check for proposed changes.
 *The current year of the Notice Register or  Z Register is kept in a white binder after the last bound volume.  The Notice Register began publication in 1974.  For the earlier years 1974-1978, see the California State Library catalog

Rulemaking Calendar  KFC35 .A23 - 4th Floor Stacks (1979-current)
The Rulemaking Calendar is published each year in the Z Register.  Every board and department lists proposed regulations, the subject of the proposed regulation, the CCR title and sections affected, the statutes being implemented, contact names and telephone numbers, and projected dates for notices, hearings, and adoption.

Title 24, CCR, Building Codes
 
 The current Building Codes with incorporated changes are available at the website of the California Building Standards Commission.  
The current Building Codes in print are kept at KFC35 .A22 - Reference Desk

California State Agencies
The individual agency websites are also a good place to check for new and proposed regulations.


CA-REGTXT tracks the full text of each stage of pending and current regulations, from mid-2002 to current. Updated daily.
Administrative Decisions
Finding Administrative Decisions
 
State agencies conduct quasi-judicial hearings.   For an overview of this process, see California Administrative Hearing Practice  KFC780 .C362 -  Research Alcove. Also available on CEB OnLAW 

The State Administrative Manual (SAM)

The reference source for statewide policies, procedures, regulations and information
Hastings has at:    KFC35 .A25  6th Floor Stacks

State Agencies
Many agencies also publish their decisions on the Internet. You may want to the agency website to see if the information you are seeking is available.   
 
The following selection of agencies may be of use in your research.   Many are available both in print here at the Library and also online.  

Agricultural Labor Relations Board
Decisions and Orders [1975-current]
Print: KFC 565.A55 - 6th Floor Stacks

Alcoholic Beverage Control Appeals Board
Decisions [1997-current]

Cal/OSHA Appeals Board
Decisions After Reconsideration [1999-current]
 
California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB)
Decisions (1997- current)
California Workers' Compensation Reporter  KFC592.A59 6th Floor Stacks  (1973-May 2011)

Department of Corporations

Selected Commissioner’s Opinions [1996-] & selected Releases (2004- current)

Fair Political Practices Commission

Opinions [1975-current] & Advice Letters [1990-current]
 
Fair Employment and Housing Commission
Precedential Decisions  (2000-2011)
Print: KFC572. .A55 C3  - 6th Floor Stacks [1978-2002]

Industrial Accident Commission
California Compensation Cases (all decisions of the Supreme and Appellate courts in cases originating from the Industrial Accident Commission [1936-2009] & the Industrial Accident Board Decisions [1911-1935])
Print: KFC 592.A553 - 6th Floor Stacks

Office of Administrative Law
Determinations (Contains OAL determinations as to whether a particular agency rule is in fact a regulation that should have been, but was not, adopted in compliance with the procedural requirements of the APA (Administrative Procedure Act). These are also known as "Underground Regulations".) [1986-2003, 2006-current]  *Determinations were not issued 2003-2005.
Print:  KFC780 .A29 C34  - 6th Floor Stacks (April 1986-2001, no.12)

Office of Administrative Law
Emergency Regulations

Public Employee Retirement System (CALPERS)
Precedential Board Decisions [1998-2012]
 
Public Employment Relations Board
Decisions (1976-current)
Print: KFC658.A55 - 6th Floor Stacks [1976-current]  HO-UHO-R ; JR

Public Utilities Commission

Final Decisions, Final Resolutions, Rulings, General Orders
Decisions of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of California KFC455 .A554  (1950-2000)
Decisions of the Railroad Commission  KFC455.A554 - 6th Floor Stacks (1911-1947)

State Bar of California
Ethics Opinions [1965-current]
 
State Board of Equalization
Formal Opinions & Memorandum Opinions [1930-current]

State Personnel Board
Precedential Decisions (Current)
Contract Decisions (informational only)

State Water Resources Control Board
Decisions [1924-current],
Orders [1961-current]
Resolutions [1967-current]
Print: KFC791.A557 6th Floor Stacks Decisions [1905-2000]
Print: KFC790.A554 6th Floor Stacks Orders [1970-1993, 1995-2001]

State Water Resources Control Board. Division of Water Rights
Division Decisions  [1999-current]
Print: KFC791.A557 C3  - 6th Floor Stacks [1999-2000]

Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board

Precedent Decisions: Benefit, Ruling, Tax, and Disability (1944-current)
Print: KFC596.A56 U5 -  6th Floor Stacks [1968-1992]

Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board
Regulations
Index to Precedent Decisions [2001-current]

Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

En Banc Decisions [1997-current]
 
Workers' Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau
Current Manuals for rates, rules, regulations, and classifications
 
Westlaw
Check the California administrative materials libraries in Westlaw (under California Administrative Law) for the names of the individual databases and dates of coverage for administrative appeals board rulings and decisions.

Not all agencies publish their decisions. For a listing of agencies which do publish their decisions, see Martin, Henke's California Law Guide, 8th edition, p.235-p.236. [KFC 74.H46 2006 Reference Desk]
Opinions of the Attorney General
Opinions of the California Attorney General

Opinions of the California Attorney General
  KFC780 .A55 - 4th Floor reading Room (1947- current)

Lexis Advance Browse sources for CA Attorney General Opinions

Westlaw  (1977-current)
CA-AG

California Office of the Attorney General
Full text Opinions from 1986-current.  

Attorney General opinions from 1852-1942
Not published officially, but are available on microfilm.
KF 5406.A619 A88 - Micrographics Room - Cabinet 44
Superseded Regulations and Regulatory History
Finding Superseded Regulations and Regulatory History

Barclay's Official California Code of Regulations and the earlier California Code of Regulations may be used to find changes made 1977-current.


Regulatory History
One way to find changes is to check the History note at the end of the section. Note the year and register number (e.g. 1992 reg 24). If the note is not at then end of the section, try the end of the preceding section, the end of the first section in the article, or the end of the first section in the title. You can use the history note to find out the effective date of the regulation, and to get references to earlier versions of the regulation. You can then look up these references in the appropriate year of the CCR. Sometimes this works perfectly. However, not all regulatory changes make it into the notes. If you can't find the earlier references this way, try the next hint.

Hint:

Use the effective date(s) of your regulation to review the entries in the appropriate Regulatory Code Supplement. Use the references to the sections affected to locate the previous citation for your regulation, and then look at the official version of the regulation in the appropriate year of the CCR. Work backwards in the Regulatory Code Supplement for each earlier incarnation of the regulation.

Legislative Research Inc.
There is also a handwritten guide to the register of all the changes made to each title, by agency, from 1945 to 1990. Legislative Research, Inc. has made these handwritten cards available online. It's called the Magic Drawer. The only searchable text is the title information (search = Title 13). Then review the card entries. The entries do not list individual regulations, so you will have to search each register to see if your regulation was affected. However, you can cross-reference the card entries with the list of changes you have found with your previous search.

California Code of Regulations (and its predecessor, the California Administrative Code from previous years may be found in Micrographics, KFC35 .A2 1945- current. (Cabinets 22-23).

The California Regulatory Code Supplement (Digest of New Regulations)
(previously called the California Administrative Code Supplement)

KFC 35 .A22 4th Floor Stacks [1995-current]; Micrographics - Cabinets 22 -23 [1945-current]
The binder contains the official register of changes to the administrative code. The weekly updates include the full text of all regulations filed during that week with the Secretary of State, as well as a list of the sections affected by the newly published regulation. Just to confuse the issue, this publication is sometimes officially referred to as the Register.

Hint
If you are using the microfiche set, the Regulatory Code Supplement for each year is located behind the tab marked "Register."

Note for the years 1988-1990, you can also check the volumes marked CCR Decisions (KFC25.A2) in the 4th Floor Stacks. Some additional information about your regulation may have been separately published in these volumes.]

The UMI Comprehensive Index (Comprehensive Index, California Code of Regulations) KFC35 .A24 - Micrographics Room
may be useful for finding the changes to a particular section from 1981 to 1999 (ceased). The volumes are shelved in the Micrographics Room.

The California Regulatory Notice Register (Z Register KFC 35.A23 4th Floor Stacks [1979 - CURRENT].
This additional weekly publication is published by the State Office of Administrative Law.  It includes all proposed regulatory changes within state agencies, as well as disapproval decisions, regulations filed with the Secretary of State, CCR Changes with the Secretary of State (title and section changes), and agency contact information. There is no index, so you will need to scan the table of contents in each issue to check for proposed changes. The current year's publications are kept in a white binder at the end of the bound volumes.

Barclay's Law Library KFC57.B32 6the Floor Stacks [1990-1996, ceased]
Changes enacted between 1990-1996 are arranged by broad subjects. Listings of related court cases and affected California Code sections are also included.

Policy Briefs and Agency Reports
Review policy briefs and agency reports: the California Research Bureau (1991-current) is part of the California State Library; it provides nonpartisan research as requested and its published reports are available online. The Legislative Analyst's Office has a searchable bank of policy reports. The Legislative Counsel's Agency Reports provide information about reports by various state and local agencies.

Call the Agency
The Public Records Act (Government Code § 6250 et seq.) sets out procedures for public access to rulemaking files. You can consult the agency or its legal department and request rulemaking files.
Outside Sources
Using Other Outside Sources

San Francisco Public Library (100 Larkin Street)
Holdings include the CCR from 1990 - current and the Z Register from 1988 - current. The Public Library is an official state depository, so they hold many published agency decisions.

San Francisco Law Library (Van Ness and McAllister/ fourth floor, War Memorial Building)
Holdings include the CCR from 1945 - current, and the Z Register from 1982 - current The SFLL does not hold any published agency decisions.

California Office of Administrative Law
The process by which rules become regulations is governed by the Administrative Procedure Act (Government Code 11340 et. Seq.) (available online at http://www.oal.ca.gov/Administrative_Procedure_Act.htm.) For more information on Administrative Procedures, call the Office of Administrative Law Reference Attorney at 916-323-6815 or email staff@oal.ca.gov

Go to the Agency's Web Page: Agencies

Frequently information about their policies, procedures, guidelines, and emergency regulations are available.  An example is at the Department of Toxic Substance Control.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Hilary Hardcastle

Hilary Hardcastle
Head of Reference Services
Tel: 565-4792

Encore Catalog Search

The Hastings Encore Catalog is our search engine to find books and journals in the Hastings Law Library; articles and journals on HeinOnline, ProQuest Central, Oxford Journals Online and PubMed Central; as well as materials found in libraries around the world via Worldcat.