Databases
1ABCEFGHIKLMNOPRSTUVWNumAll Images Audio Video

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, containing approximately 1,270 titles.

18th Century Collections Online
Over 180,000 titles, including works published in the UK during the 18th century, plus thousands from elsewhere. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and more.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, including the L.A. Times and the San Francisco Weekly Star. Coverage: 1800-1899

ABA Law School Statistics
Statistics about law schools including employment, enrollment, gender and ethnic data, and degrees awarded.
Access to Archival Databases
The electronic archival collection by the National Archives and Records Administration, containing information for more than 20 Federal agencies.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACLS Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1,700 books in the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. (See title list.) Humanities E- Book is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality recommended and reviewed by scholars.

Administrative Office of the United States Courts
Website for the agency that serves the Federal Judiciary in carrying out its administrative functions, including the Procurement Management Division (PDM).

Agricola (USDA)
"Serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The catalog records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences."

American Community Survey
An ongoing statistical survey conducted by the U.S. Census that samples a small percentage of the population every year.

American FactFinder
Provides data about communities in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas, using numerous censuses and surveys.

American Presidency Project
A UCSB project that provides free online access to documents and data related to the U.S. presidency.

Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
AustLII provides free online access to Australian and New Zealand legal resources, including legislation, case law, and secondary materials.

Bar Journals (HeinOnline)
Contains 80 state and local Bar Journals. Searchable by article title, author, description, date, or across the full text of the articles.


bepress Legal Repository
Free online access to working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at top law schools around the world.
Bloomberg BNA Antitrust and Trade Regulations Resource Center
BNA's Antitrust & Trade Regulation Resource Center is a comprehensive resource for attorneys who practice in the area of antitrust or trade regulation law. The resource center includes authoritative, in-depth, and practice-oriented news; full text of cases; federal antitrust & trade regulation statutes; federal antitrust & trade regulation regulations; state antitrust laws from all 50 states; more than a dozen different BNA portfolio titles providing in-depth analysis on a broad range of topics; BNA Insights from top attorneys across the country addressing current legal issues and pitfalls; forms and sample documents; compliance tools; and the industry leading ABA book entitled Antitrust Law Developments (current edition)
Bloomberg BNA Benefits Practice Resource Center
Resource for pension and employee benefits practitioners. The Resource Center features authoritative, in-depth, and practice-oriented news, analysis, and practice tools. Organized into six topical and practice areas — Pensions & Retirement, Health Benefits, Fringe & Welfare Benefits, Compliance & Enforcement, Litigation, and Executive Compensation
Bloomberg BNA Corporate Law Resource Center
Authoritative, in-depth, and practice-oriented news, analysis, and practice tools organized into five topical and practice areas—Corporate Compliance, Corporate Governance, Corporate Legal Departments, Financial Reporting, and Forms of Business.
Bloomberg BNA eDisovery Resource Center
Legal analysis and practice tools from leading digital discovery experts, news coverage, research tools, and comprehensive primary source information.
Bloomberg BNA Email Alerts

Hastings students, staff and faculty can login to this page to receive weekly email updates directly from BNA. The following are some BNA Alerts that are available:

BNA Topical Email Updates:

  • ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual: Current Reports
  • ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct: Current Reports
  • Accounting Policy & Practice Report
  • Antitrust & Trade Regulation Report
  • Bankruptcy Law Reporter
  • Criminal Law Reporter
  • Electronic Commerce & Law Report
  • Employment Discrimination Report
  • Environment Reporter
  • Family Law Reporter®
  • Health Law Reporter
  • International Trade Reporter
  • Securities Regulation & Law Report
  • US Patents Quarterly 2d - Email update
  • White Collar Crime Report

Labor & Employment Law Library: Individual Employment Rights Cases

  • Labor & Employment Law Library: Analysis/News & Background
  • Arbitration Decisions
  • Disabilities Cases
  • Fair Employment Cases
  • Labor Cases
  • NLRB Decisions
  • Wages, Hours & Leave Cases

Tax Management Library:

  • Compenstation Planning Journal
  • Weekly Tax Report
  • Weekly State Tax Report
  • Tax Management Memorandum
  • International Journal
  • Real Estate Journal

 


Bloomberg BNA Environment & Safety Resource Center
Provides searchable access to the information and analyses needed to understand and comply with federal and state environment and safety laws and regulations. Also includes environment and safety laws and regulations in Canada and Mexico; the full text of European Union directives and regulations; the complete text of thousands of legal decisions made by federal, state, and administrative courts; and hundreds of EHS forms, guidance and presidential documents, agency memoranda, and international treaties and agreements to ensure ready access to all relevant and required information.

Bloomberg BNA Health Law Resource Center
Practice-oriented news, legal analysis, and practice tools addressing important issues affecting the health care industry.  Includes full text of the statutes, regulations, agency documents and case law that health lawyers need in daily practice. Practitioner-authored portfolios, treatises, BNA Insights articles, and checklists and forms offer practical, in-depth analysis.

Bloomberg BNA HR & Payroll Resource Center
State Requirements, HR Health Care Compliance, HR Practitioners Guide, State Compliance Alert, legal analysis, reports, and many topics in HR Law. State law summaries by state and category as well as state quick reference charts.

Bloomberg BNA Intellectual Property Law Resource Center
Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal; World Intellectual Property Report; searchable database of patent, trademark, unfair trade practice, and copyright law; legal analysis; judicial practice and procedure; latest news, links and related topics.

Bloomberg BNA International Trade Reporter
Comprehensive, current information on developments affecting the trade and international business policies of the U.S. and major U.S. trading partners. Covers latest news and trends in U.S. trade policy, including regulatory, legislative, and judicial developments, activities of the International Trade Commission, Departments of State, Treasury, and Commerce, World Trade Organization, and European Union. Service includes opinions of the U.S. Court of International Trade, International Trade Administration, and International Trade Commission.

Bloomberg BNA Labor & Employment Law Resource Center
Comprehensive coverage of cases and news in all major areas of the field: fair employment practices, individual employment rights, Americans with disabilities, wages and hours, labor-management relations, collective bargaining, and labor arbitration. Coverage includes analysis, guidance and primary source material. Decisions include full text judicial opinions, rulings and memoranda. All BNA Labor & Employment News Reports and FLSA Litigation Tracker.

Bloomberg BNA Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal
Updates on significant developments in intellectual property law. Coverage from February 15, 1996 to the present.
Bloomberg BNA Privacy & Data Security Law Resource Center
The Privacy & Data Security Law Resource Center offers authoritative, in-depth, and practice-oriented news, legal analysis, and practice tools addressing important issues in privacy and information security, in combination with full text of the statutes, regulations, agency documents and case law that privacy lawyers need in daily practice. Practitioner-authored treatises, BNA Insights articles, and checklists and forms offer practical, in-depth analysis. State information includes full text of state privacy and information security statutes, easily accessed with a series of interactive maps.
Bloomberg BNA Tax and Accounting Center
Analysis, news, primary sources, and practice tools covering federal, international, and state tax issues and financial accounting. Tax Management Portfolios, Primary Sources (incl. cases, regs, rulings, treaties, IRS docs and pubs), Forms, BNA Daily and Weekly Tax Reports, Email Notifications.
Bloomberg BNA World Intellectual Property Report
Daily update of international developments affecting intellectual property law.

Bloomberg Law
Note: Free to students, faculty, and staff. Registration required.
Legal research platform with proprietrary news and business resources from Bloomberg. Includes docket databases, company profiles and filings and corporate practice areas.

BNA's Employment Discrimination Report
Weekly coverage of judicial, legislative, and regulatory developments in the area of equal employment opportunity, Employment Discrimination Report spans all areas of EEO policy and practice.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic information about the United States including national, international, regional and industry topics that provide information about  GDP (U.S. and states), personal income, consumer spending, trade, services, investments, industry accounts, and research and development. Includes interactive tables and publications.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes data and statistics on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

CALI
Internet version of the CALI Library of Lessons, a collection of over one hundred interactive, computer-based lessons covering twenty seven legal education subject areas. The lessons are written by law faculty and librarians and are regularly reviewed and revised.
Coverage: current
Access: requires ID & password (obtain Hastings CALI registration code here.)
California Assembly Clerk Archive
Site includes PDFs of California's Statutes and Amendments to the Code for most of the years from 1850 through 2008, as well as the Assembly Journals from 1849 through 2008, and the Final Histories from 1881 through 2008.

California Attorney General Opinions
A complete searchable compilation of California Attorney General opinions issued since 1997.

California Ballot Propositions and Initiatives
PDF images of California Ballot Propositions (1911-2012) and California Ballot Initiatives(1912-2000).
California Building Standards Codes
PDFs of the 2007, 2010, and 2013 Building Standards Code.

California Codes (Current)
Free access to the current California Code.  Browse by section or search the full text.

California Courts Website
Website of the judicial branch of California.  Site includes free access to appellate court slip opinions, legal forms, court rules, and self-help materials.

California Digital Newspaper Collection
A digital Repository of historical California newspapers published 1846-1922 (issues are 1846-present), as well as some current newspapers. Includes the Californian, the first California newspaper, and the Daily Alta California, the first daily California newspaper. Created and maintained by the University of California, Riverside Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research.

California Law Revision Commission
The Commission is an independent state agency created by statute in 1953. It assists the Legislature and Governor by examining California law and issuing reports recommending needed reforms.
California Legislative Information
Free online resource for California bill information, the California Code, and California legislative history materials.  Maintained by the Legislative Counsel of California.

California Legislative Information (Former Site)
Includes links to the as-enacted chapter laws, as well as legislative history materials going back to the 1993-1994 legislative session

California Local Codes and Charters
The UCB Institute of Governmental Studies Library maintains a large depository collection of local ordinance codes and charters issued by California cities and counties.
California Local Rules of Court
Links and PDFs to the local rules of court for California superior courts.

California Municipal Codes
Municipal codes from many cities in California, codified by Quality Code Publishing.

California Regulations
Free online source for the California Code of Regulations (CCR) maintained by West in cooperation with the California Office of Administrative Law.  Browse or search by section number or keyword to find a California regulation currently in force.

California Regulatory Notice Register
The California Regulatory Notice Register contains notices of proposed regulatory actions by state regulatory agencies to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations contained in the California Code of Regulation. The Notice Register is published every Friday.
California Rules of Court
Rules of Courts in California, provided in pdf format. Includes local rules and a section about new and amended rules.
California Senate Office of Research
Contains reports, studies and other publications, prepared by nonpartisan consultants to assist senators with the development of effective public policy.

California State Assembly
The official website of the California State Assembly. Contains information on legislation, committee files, Assembly members' websites and expenditure information, and links to government resources.

California State Senate
California Senate information for Senators, committees, calendar, publications, offices and caucuses. Includes a citizen's guide and audio and TV transmissions.

California Statutes 1850-1992 (Assembly Clerk Archive)
California State Assembly archive of California statutes (session laws) in pdf format. Also includes Final Histories, Legislative Index and Table of Sections Affected 1881-2001 and Assembly Journals 1849-1998.
California Statutes 1993-Present
California session laws, searchable by chapter number or keyword.

CCH Intelliconnect
Numerous CCH publications in searchable database.  Primary and secondary materials on topics including state and federal taxation, banking, bankruptcy, human resources, intellectual property, and securities, to name a few.

CEB OnLAW
Searchable online resource for California practice guides, reporters, and Action Guides published by CEB (Continuing Education of the Bar). This database currently covers 90 publications and includes links to case law, statutes and forms.

China Law Digest
China Law Digest offers the latest news on legal developments and judicial reform in China. The focus of the reported news includes social justice, the protection of disadvantaged minority groups, constitutional reform, advancement of the rule of law, and the intersection between Chinese and international law. China Law Digest derives information from publicly available Chinese and foreign publications.


CISG Database
Database on the 1980 United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG), maintained by Pace University Law School. Includes the text of the treaty, its legislative history, case annotations, and scholarship.

Code of Federal Regulations
Free online access to the CFR from 1996 to the present, provided by the Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System portal.

Code of Federal Regulations (HeinOnline)
Coverage is comprehensive, containing more than 8,500 volumes dating back to inception (1938).


Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. All sections of CIAO are updated monthly.

Compilation of Presidential Documents
Website includes the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Published by the Office of the Federal Register and the National Archives and Records Administration.
Congress.gov
A Federal legislative information that is freely available to the public. Includes Bills, congressional activity, Congressional Record, schedules/calendars, committee information, U.S. treaty information, and other government resources.
Congressional Research Service (CRS)
CRS works exclusively for members and committees of the United States Congress. An arm of the Library of Congress, the agency is renowned for its non-partisanship and its in-depth analysis of issues. CRS Reports provide valuable insight into how Congress makes decisions and are excellent sources for determining historical and current legal frameworks on domestic and international issues.

Constitution Annotated
Legal analysis & interpretation of the United States Constitution, based on U.S. Supreme Court law.

Cornell Legal Information Institute
A comprehensive collection of laws that include U.S. Federal law, Supreme Court cases, the Constitution, U.S. Codes, the C.F.R., State laws, and World laws. Also offers secondary tools like articles explaining the law, legal dictionaries, and a lawyer finding tool.

Courtroom View Network
Note: Free to UC Hastings students, faculty, & staff. Requires registration.
Includes downloadable MP3 files of edited judicial opinions, an online video library of real-life trials, hearings, and oral arguments from around the country, and trial advocacy, evidence, and appellate advocacy training videos for law students.

Criminal Law Reporter
Timely, objective reporting on significant developments, trends, and emerging patterns in criminal law today. Published weekly.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals
The Current Index to Legal Periodicals provides topical access to over 500 legal publications, organized within 100 relevant subject headings. The CILP contains complete tables of contents of all the journals indexed, with all citations in Bluebook form and links to articles via Lexis and Westlaw (account passwords are required to view full text of the articles)

e-CFR (Electronic Code of Federal Regulations)
The cCFR is a daily updated, unofficial editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the Office of the Federal Register and the Government Printing Office.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
A national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences to provide access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles going back to 1966. Some 107,000 full-text non-journal documents are accessible electronically in PDF format.
Election and Voting Resources (California)
Information about election, voting and ballot measures in California.


Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
Database of authenticated primary sources and materials related to international law.

English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867) (HeinOnline)
Exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. Navigation tools include a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature.

Environmental Law Reporter
An environmental, natural resources, toxic tort, energy, health/safety, and land use law research tool containing original source documents, editorial summaries, and expert analysis on state, federal, and international issues. ELR consists of twelve components: News & Analysis; ELR UPDATE; Litigation; Federal Laws and Regulations; Administrative Materials; Indexes; State Materials; International Materials; Health and Safety Materials; Guidance & Policy Collection; Briefs & Pleadings; and Online Seminars.

EPA Regulatory Development and Retrospective Review Tracker (Reg DaRRT)
Provides information on the status of EPA's priority rulemakings, as well as information on the status of retrospective reviews of existing regulations.

European Union Legislation (EUR-Lex)
Free online access to European Union law and other E.U. documents, including daily editions of the Official Journal of the European Union, Court of Justice case law, and prepatory acts. 

FDsys (Federal Digital System)
Provided by the Government Printing Office, FDsys provides free online access to federal government information, including official publications produced by all three branches of the federal government. Popular titles include the U.S. Code, the C.F.R., the Federal Register, and the Congressional Record.

Federal Judicial Center
The website for the Education and Research Agency of the Federal Courts, offering judges and court employees the agency's research documents and educational materials.

Federal Register Library (HeinOnline)
The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. It's coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR from inception (1938), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).


Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Download, graph and track Federal Reserve economic data drawn from 59 sources. You can search by category (such as banks, finances, international data) and author.  Tools include graphing, mapping and embedding data, and secondary sources include publications and working papers.

FedStats
Free online access to statistical information produced by the federal government.

FindLaw
A database of free legal materials that includes articles on various legal topics, a lawyer search database, legal news, a question and answer forum, and a database of videos.

FirstSearch
Online access to over 70 databases, including: WorldCat-- holdings of the much of the world's library collections, millions of records in over 400 languages; Electronic Collections Online (ECO)-- access to journals published on the Internet; ArticleFirst-- Index to journal articles (1990- present); NetFirst-- subject index to useful web sites.

Flare Index to Treaties
A database of more than 2,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties, from the 12th Century to the present. Search by keyword, title, date and location, as well as with advanced search fields. Includes information where to obtain the treaty in paper and online.

Foreign & International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)
FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.


Foreign Law Guide
A comprehensive index and research guide to current sources of codes and basic legislation in jurisdictions of the world.

GAO Report: U.S. Government Accountability Office
"The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. GAO's best known products include reports, testimonies, correspondence, and legal decisions and opinions, which are available to the press and the public. GAO also produce special publications to assist Congress and executive branch agencies by recommending corrections to problems in government programs and operations, identifying long-term trends, and raising concerns about the nation's fiscal imbalance."

Google Books

Use Google Books to search a wide variety of books. You may have an option to view the contents of the book, but often online access is very limited.


Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches multiple academic databases simultaneously.  Search results include a citator to rank the influence of each article.

Govtrack.us
Govtrack.us tracks legislation in Congress and the United States. It brings together the status of U.S. federal legislation, voting records, congressional district maps, and more. Most of the information is assembled in an automated way by scanning federal government websites, such as THOMAS. State legislative information is available here through a partnership with LegiNation, Inc. and LegiScan, Inc.
Guide to Law Online (Law Library of Congress)
Annotated compendium of links to online sources of foreign law.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources.  Bibliographic searching (title, author, subject, ISBN, publisher, and year of publication) of the HathiTrust Digital Library is available through the primary catalog search box.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline includes full-text access to more than 1,500 law journals.  It also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.  HeinOnline provides exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Note: Restricted to users on campus
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. HSDL features - SeekOnce: a meta-search engine which enables searching across more than 50 article databases, quick link reference page, "On the Homefront News and Reports" with links to newly released reports, breaking news stories, and a calendar of up-coming homeland security related conferences and events.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)
Index of articles and book reviews from more than 450 legal periodicals, including journals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports. Coverage includes international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, British Isles, and British Commonwealth. Updated quarterly. Coverage: 1985 - present


Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Full text and citations from legal periodicals and books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Coverage: 1981 - present; Retrospective Coverage: 1908-1981. Links to full text for most citations.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a free digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.  The Internet Archive also includes the Wayback Machine, a free service that allows people to visit archived versions of Web sites. Visitors to the Wayback Machine can type in a URL, select a date range, and then begin surfing on an archived version of the Web.
IRS.gov
Tax forms, IRS publications, current regulations by topic, Internal Revenue bulletin, written determinations, and IRS GuideWire.

Kluwer Law International
An International Law database which includes the resources Enforcement of Foreign Judgments; IEL Commercial and Economic Law; IEL Constitutional Law; IEL Contracts; IEL Cyber Law; IEL Family & Succession Law; IEL Intellectual Property; and Maritime Law Handbook.

KluwerArbitration.com
Published by Kluwer Law International in conjunction with the Institute for Transnational Arbitration (ITA), the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) and the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA). A fully-searchable database of primary and secondary materials and commentary in the field, giving you access to full-text downloads of all materials.
Law Library of Congress: Digital Hearings Project
An in-progress collaboration between the LLC and Google to digitize the LLC's 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings and make them available online. As of 2013, three collections are available: U.S. Census, Freedom of Information/Privacy, and Immigration.

Law Reviews and Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)
Contains more than 1,620 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
LawInfoChina - English Language
Note: If you have difficulty accessing the database, click "IP Login" at the top of page.
Searchable database of selected laws, regulations, annotated statutes, cases, legal news and full text articles from major Chinese law journals. Comprehensive English translations of statutes, regulations & articles. Website is divided into English and Chinese language versions.  Some information may be available only in Chinese, such as additional notes, links and full-text Chinese journal articles.

Lawtel
Index to current United Kingdom and European Union Articles, and Electronic collection of UK and EU practice materials, case law, proposed and adopted legislation, treaties, commission reports and notices. Also includes searchable database of UK barristers and chambers, and guides to UK practice in Human Rights, Local Government, Personal Injury, Civil Procedure and Employment Law.


Leadership Law Premium
Searchable online directory that provides contact information for over 60,000 legal "leaders," including lawyers, lobbyists, and judges.

Legal Classics (HeinOnline)
Includes more than 2,500 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many "classics" this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.


Legal Profession Statistics (ABA)
Statistical data on the legal profession gathered by the ABA, including demographics, the judicial system, and legal salaries.

Legal Scholarship Network
LSN is a searchable database of abstracts of working-papers as well as articles accepted for publication. Articles are available in full-text. 

LegalTrac
LegalTrac is a database for finding articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice, and legal subjects.

Legislative Analyst's Office (California)
The Office provides a fiscal and policy advice to the legislature, and nonpartisan analyses of the state budget.
Lexis Advance
Note: Individual UC Hastings login required.
Comprehensive legal research system for researching primary law (cases, statutes, administrative materials, etc.) and secondary sources (treatises, law reviews, etc.).

LLMC Digital
A searchable collection of archival legal literature, case reports, statutes and documents.

LLSDC Legislative Source Book
A compilation of research guides for legislative document research by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. Research topics include legislative history, Administrative Law, Committees, the F.R. and C.F.R., and executive orders and proclamations. Page also has a gateway to primary source sites and other helpful links.

Loislaw
Loislaw provides access to selected current Aspen legal treatises in a number of practice areas, comprehensive state and federal case reports, statutes and regulations.

Making of Modern Law (MOML)
Searchable digital collection of 19th and 20th century American and British legal treatises compiled largely from Harvard Law School Library’s Special Collections. Materials in Legal Treatises include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.


Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
This collection consists of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative & International Law 1600-1926
Searchable digital collection of legal treatises covering international law, comparative law, foreign law, Roman law, Islamic law, Jewish law, and Ancient law. Coverage: 1600-1926
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
Online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Documents related to famous trials conducted between 1600 and 1926.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing over 1600 peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.

Municipal Codes (Coded Systems LLC)
Publisher of local codes and other municipal government documents such as city council minutes for selected locations.
Municipal Codes (eCode360)
A growing collection of links to municipal codes.

Municipal Codes (Sterling Codifiers)
A collection of state municipal codes by Sterling Codifiers, that includes a search feature.
Municode Library
An interactive map links to municipal codes in the 50 States and U.S. Territories, organized alphabetically by county name.

National Environmental Publications Information System (NEPIS)
Searchable free EPA publications, containing more than 7,000 in stock and 35,000 digital titles. Download digital documents, or order a print document from the EPA.

National Security Archive (George Washington University)
The largest nongovernmental library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, the National Security Archive provides access to a wide range of records generated by government activities. Topics include U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, White House correspondence and more.

Open CRS (Congressional Research Service Reports)
Provides access to CRS reports on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Please note that not all reports are yet available, and not all have yet been released. Site is searchable by keywords but not organized by subject, and the frotn page displays a feed of currently uploaded reports.

Open States (State Law Tracking)
A Sunlight Academy project, this website contains a collection of search tools that aggregate information about United States and its territories. Information includes data on bills, legislators, committees and events, and is collected from official sources.
Oxford Constitutions of the World
Fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.
Oxford Journals Online
Searchable online access to the full range of journals published by Oxford University. Search in individual or mulitple titles, or by subject areas: Humanities, Law, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Science, Medicine and Social Sciences. 1996- current.

Oxford Reports on International Law
Oxford Reports on International Law  brings together decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals. It makes the full scope of international case law available in one place, accompanied by expert analysis. New cases are added daily.
PLI Discover Plus
Practising Law Institute's searchable database provides access to Treatises, Course Handbooks, Legal Forms and Program Transcripts in multiple practice areas: Accounting,  Antitrust,  Banking, Bankruptcy & Restructuring, Children’s Law, Communications/Telecommunications Law, Corporate & Securities, Employment, Energy, Environmental,ERISA,Estates & Trusts, Ethics/Professional Responsibility, Health Care, Insurance, Intellectual Property, International, Litigation, Municipal Law, Pro Bono, Professional Skills, Real Estate and Tax. 2010- current

ProQuest Central
The largest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, magazines, newspapers and dissertations for information on a broad range of general reference subjects such as business, political science, art, literature and psychology. Search 24 databases at ProQuest central or choose a subject database.

ProQuest Congressional Legislative Histories
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative histories, indexes and full text of congressional publications from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
Coverage: 1789 - present; full text digital Serial Set 1789-1969

Proquest Legislative Insight
Federal legislative history resource comprised of fully searchable PDFs of congressional legislative documents. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
Coverage: 1961 - current

ProQuest Psychology Journals
ProQuest Psychology Journals covers a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, addiction, linguistics, neurology, social welfare, and more.

PsycNET
Research database hosted by the American Psychological Association. Includes PsycARTICLES: Full-text articles from over 50 top APA psychology journals Coverage: 1985-current; PsycBOOKS: A searchable full-text database of scholarly books dating back to 1806 from the APA and other distinguished publishers. Coverage: 1806-current; PsycINFO: covers all psychology disciplines, plus related articles from education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work. It provides abstracting and indexing for nearly 2,000 key psychology titles, with coverage dating from the 1800s. Updated weekly, PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of articles from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
PubMed Central
"A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). "

Regulations.gov
Search and review original regulatory documents published by the U.S. Federal Government, submit your comments on proposed regulations and related documents, and view comments submitted by others. Site allows you to browse by topic or search full-text. Each regulation record includes a docket summary, related documents, and public comments.

RIA Checkpoint
Primary Federal and State Tax Law, Secondary Analyses including WG&L Treatises, US Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Coordinator 2d.
San Francisco Public Library
The San Francisco Public Library is located two blocks away from UC Hastings at 100 Larkin St.  You can find books on your topic via the library catalog (Books and Materials tab), and articles via the electronic databases (elibrary tab.) Electronic access requires a library card.

San Francisco Public Library Electronic Databases

The San Francisco Public Library provides access to numerous multi-discipline databases to library card users, including Academic OneFile (Gale), Academic Search Complete (Ebsco), and JSTOR.


ScienceDirect
Access to the abstracts and citations of more than 2,500 science journals and more than 11,000 books.  Full text access to open access journals and sponsored articles.

Session Laws Library (HeinOnline)
This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception.


Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
This website provides plentiful statistical records for criminal justice. Access the statistics by subject areas, topics A-Z, and special focus topics (bullying, guns, etc.). Areas include the characteristics of the criminal justice system, public attitude towards crime and criminal justice, nature and distribution of known offenses, characteristic and distribution of persons arrested, judicial proceedings of defendants, and statistics for persons under correctional supervision.

State Legislative History Research Guides
Note: http://law.indiana.libguides.com/content.php?pid=383443&sid=3145243
An interactive map links to available state research guides. Hosted by the University of Indiana at Bloomington's Law School.

State Legislatures (NCSL.org)
A database of the fifty state legislatures, as well as the District of Columbia and the Territories. Content includes bills, statutes, live online sites, press room content, program evaluations, and children's page. Allows you to view content from one state, a selected list of states, or all states.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Summary of statistics from the U.S. Bureau on the social, political, and econimic organization of the United States.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (HeinOnline)
This library features a database giving you access to over 20,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg and Carol Boast Robertson's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline. In addition to a searchable database, HeinOnline also includes the exact replicas of the original bound volumes.


Tax Analysts
Federal, state and international tax news and commentary.  Searchable full-text documents from courts, Congress, and government agencies and departments. Updated daily.

THOMAS State Legislature Websites
An interactive map links to state legislature websites. The legislature websites host official state government information which may include primary documents such as online codes, bills, resolutions and public laws, as well as links to state agencies and other government bodies.

Trans-Lex.org
A free research and codification platform for transnational law. Documents include court decisions, doctrines, legislations and other documents. Languages include English, French, Spanish, Latin, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese and German. English translation is available.

Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)
This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
Treaties in Force (U.S. Department of State)
Provides information on treaties and other international agreements in which the U.S. has become a party, and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force as of its stated publication date. The list is provided as a searchable pdf document.

U.N. Human Rights Treaties (Bayefsky.com)

The U.N. treaty system definitively establishes the legitimacy of international interest in the protection of human rights. It is undisputed that sovereignty is limited with respect to human rights. International supervision is valid and states are accountable to international authorities for domestic acts affecting human rights. The treaty standards are the benchmark for assessment and concern.

Over the last decade ratifications in the treaty system and acceptance of communication procedures have risen exponentially. What began as an assertion of a few, is now a global proclamation of entitlements of the victims of human rights abuse. Furthermore, this participation by states has been voluntary. The obligations of the human rights treaties have been freely assumed. It is the legal character of these rights which places them at the core of the international system of human rights protection. For these rights generate corresponding legal duties upon state actors, to protect against, prevent, and remedy human rights violations.


U.S. Attorney General Opinions (HeinOnline)
This collection includes the official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice).


U.S. Code (HeinOnline)
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.


U.S. Code (Office of Law Revision Counsel)
The complete code and its tables. Also contains information about currency, a detailed guide to the code, and a classification guide.

U.S. Congressional Documents Library (HeinOnline)
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-1994), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition.


U.S. Department of Labor e-laws
A set of interactive online tools to help employers and employees learn about their rights and responsibilities under applicable Federal Employment laws. Laws are organized by categories including pay & benefits, Safety & Health, Veteran's Issues, and others. The site also offers e-law advisories to help employers determine which laws apply to their workplace, organized by topic and including Disability Nondiscrimination, Family & Medical Leave Act, Fair Labor Standard Act, and many others.

U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals (HeinOnline)
Featuring the reports, decisions, and records, this library is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It also includes more than 65 GPO best selling legal titles.


U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (HeinOnline)
In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Researchers should begin their U.S. federal legislative history research with this finding aid, which often includes references to law review articles on-point to a particular legislative history.


U.S. Presidential Library (HeinOnline)
This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.


U.S. Senate Statistics and Lists
A page linking Senatorial statistics and lists, including information about Committees, Elections, Legislation & Procedure, Nominations & Treaties, Senators, and Sessions of Congress, among others.

U.S. Statutes at Large (HeinOnline)
Includes complete coverage of the Statutes at Large, and features multiple browsing and searching options to enhance the online value over the paper volumes.


U.S. Supreme Court Historical Society
Dedicated to the collection and preservation of the history of the Supreme Court of the United States. Includes information about the history of the court, how the court works, court publications, and a research guide.

U.S. Supreme Court Library (HeinOnline)
Complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court are included in this library.


U.S. Supreme Court Nominations
A chart of Supreme Court nominations, 1789-present. (Lists only official nominations.)

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (1832-1978)
Full text searchable database of US Supreme Court Briefs includes both argued and cert denied cases. Coverage: 1832 - 1978

U.S. Supreme Court Website (Supreme Court of the United States)
The official U.S. Supreme Court website. Contains dockets, oral arguments, merit briefs, bar admission information, case handling guides, opinions, orders and journals, and information for the public such as reports, press releases and speeches.

United Nations Documents (UNBISnet)
Searchable catalog and full text of UN documents, as well as commercial publications and non-U.N. documents.
United Nations Law Collection (HeinOnline)
This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.


United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
Searchable database of official UN documentation, including resolutions, the Daily journals, and reports.

United Nations Treaty Collection
This database offers full-text searching of over 50,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties, as well as status information. 

United States Law Week
Weekly analyses, summaries and case reports for federal and state court and administrative cases. US Law Week selectively summarizes cases that establish new precedents, address new statutes, contribute to emerging legal doctrines, tackle current controversies, or further splits in the Circuits. Coverage: June 24, 1997 to Present

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Database
Full text (1976-current) of Patents filed with the United States Patent and Trademark office, including text and graphic images.

USGS Publications Warehouse
Provides access to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientists, back to 1880.

VersusLaw
Note: Free to students, faculty, & staff. Registration required.
Web-based service that provides Internet access to court opinions from the US Supreme Court, all Federal Circuit Courts of Appeals and all state appellate courts.


Westlaw
Note: Individual UC Hastings login required.
Comprehensive legal research system for researching primary law (cases, statutes, administrative materials, etc.) and secondary sources (treatises, law reviews, etc.).
Westlaw China
Note: Click blue "Log in" button for UC Hastings access.
Contains broad coverage of the following: The People’s Republic of China laws; State Council administrative regulations, rules and orders; local regulations and rules from various municipalities and provinces; judicial interpretations from the Supreme People’s Court and the Supreme People’s Procuratorate; China’s WTO Accession Documentation. 
 
Westlaw China provides access to: 1) more than 1,500 articles in English, 2) more than 4,000 case headnotes in both Chinese and English, and 3) English translations of more than 16,000 laws, regulations and international treaties.

Westlaw International Analytical
Note: Individual UC Hastings login required.
The database provides access to 35 international law publications on the WestlawNext platform for anyone who has "Hastings-issued" Westlaw ID. Titles include the following: ALERT-KEYCITE, ALR International, Americans with Disabilities Act, Comparative Environmental Law and Regulation, Cybercrime and Security, Digest of Commercial Laws of the World, Home Mortgage Law Primer, International Securities Regulation, Law of Adoption, Law of Immigration, Space Law, Transactional Contracts, and more.

World Bank: Women, Business and the Law
Presents indicators based on laws and regulations affecting women’s prospects as entrepreneurs and employees in individual countries.
World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)
This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.


World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Includes over 270 databases of case law, legislation, treaties, reports, and law journals from 48 jurisdictions in 20 countries.  Also includes a catalog with links to over 15,000 law-related web sites in every country in the world.

World Treaty Index
Contains treaties signed between countries and organizations. You can search by country, date, topic, keyword, laterality and COW code. Note: As of October, 2013, treaty dates span 1900-2003.
World Trials Library (HeinOnline)
This collection includes more than 3,200 trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.


WorldTradeLaw.net
WorldTradeLaw.net provides access to primary source documents related to international trade law, including a full-text search engine for GATT/WTO decisions. It also provides analyses of certain trade law issues through the "Dispute Settlement Commentary" subscription service. This Commentary includes summary and analysis of all new WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports within 1-3 weeks after they are circulated to the WTO Members. Coverage: analyses of all past reports/arbitrations back to the establishment of the WTO
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files